Cancelling a reservation or undoing a cancellation
Any single reservation can be cancelled, unless the reservation is already checked out. Group bookings with multiple reservations can be cancelled as a whole, or a reservation can be split off to be cancelled separately. After cancellation, the cancellation policy is applied. A reservation that was mistakenly cancelled can be reinstated.
If a reservation was mistakenly checked out instead of cancelled, you need to reverse the check-out action first to be able to correctly cancel the reservation.
Cancel a reservation
Open the reservation that you need to cancel.
Find the 'Cancel' button at the top left, in the 'Details' block.
Enter the reason for cancellation, and doublecheck the date.
If the reservation was made through an external channel, you’ll see a message informing you of the need to confirm with the channel partner that the reservation was cancelled.
Confirm the cancellation by clicking 'Cancel' again.
What happens:
The cancellation policy set up in your administration settings is applied.
Read more: Determining cancellation fees in a cancellation policy
The applicable cancellation fee is added to the reservation order. If needed, you can apply a discount or surcharge to this amount by clicking the pencil icon to edit.
Depending on the cancellation policy and any payments already made by the guest, there may be a residual amount to be received or to be paid back to the guest.
Regardless of whether the guest gets a (partial) refund or there is still an amount to be paid due to a high cancellation fee, you will see a notification at the top of your screen. Choose what you want to do:
Write off: Use this if the guest does not have to pay the cancellation fee.
Create invoice: This creates the invoice with the cancellation fee, but does not send it to the guest. Also use this button if you intend to issue a voucher for the refund amount.
Send guest an invoice: Creates the invoice with the cancellation fee, and sends it to the guest.
If the guest is due a refund, the payment status will reflect this. Use the '+Refund' button or issue a voucher for the amount, which the guest can use toward a future reservation.
Read more: How to create a voucher
Cancel a (partial) groupbooking
A group booking, which consists of multiple reservations, can be cancelled all together in the same way as a single reservation. To cancel only one (or a few) of the reservations within a group booking, you first need to split off that reservation.
Open the reservation that you need to split from a group booking. It will be marked in green as selected.
In the 'Reservation' block, click the ellipsis button and select 'Split off to separate booking'.
After confirming the split, you’ll see the reservation page with a new booking number.
Now that the reservation is no longer connected to the group booking, you can cancel it in the same way you would for a single reservation. If needed, you can edit the reservation’s details before cancelling.
Undo cancellation
You can revert a cancellation, which returns the reservation to a 'confirmed' status.
The 'revert cancellation' button can be found in the same place as the 'cancel' button. Use it if the reservation was cancelled by mistake.
Error message
Note that a cancellation cannot be undone if, in the meantime, another new reservation was placed on the same object and dates of the cancelled reservation you are trying to revert.
To solve this error, either:
Move the new reservation to another object of the same type, freeing up the original space to revert the cancelled reservation.
Copy the cancelled reservation (via the ellipsis button in the reservation block) onto another object. Doublecheck that the dates are correct too.
Copying a cancelled reservation essentially creates a new, unconfirmed reservation with a different booking number, but the same details.
This means that the original cancelled reservation should not be reverted; instead confirm the new one. In this case, also ensure that any refunds for the cancelled reservation are issued as a voucher, and that the voucher is then applied as payment to the new reservation. This prevents the guest from having to pay twice.